Just today, while online and using Facebook, I received a series of notifications saying that a friend had tagged me in a photo.
Then it says that my friends commented on the photo. When I clicked on the notification, it asked me to add an application called “Photas“. Yes, Photas- not Photos. It made me a bit curious, and checked out if it’s a legitimate Facebook application. But, what a great surprise that it didn’t exist on the list of Facebook apps. Check out the screenshot below.
The Photas App in Facebook
Now, the question is- Is it a virus? Probably, yes. Photas is more likely to be a virus. I am not sure of that. I still have to confirm that from the Facebook cyber security team. All I know is when you agree to “allow” the “Photas” application of pulling some information from your Facebook profile, it will immediately send a notification to all of your online friends, with the same message about being tagged in a photo, and then notifying them that someone commented on the photo where you have been tagged. Another annoying thing on Photas is that, when you click “Leave application” it will keep on popping up as if it’s forcing you to allow access. You have to hit other link such as Home, Profile, etc. to get away from it. The application itself is just ads.